You can add or delete desktop icons for programs, files, pictures, locations. Most of the icons you add to your desktop will be shortcuts, but you can also save files or folders to the desktop.
If you delete files or folders that are stored on your desktop, they are moved to the Recycle Bin, where you can permanently delete them. If you delete a shortcut, the shortcut is removed from your desktop, but the file, program, or location that the shortcut links to is not deleted.
To Add an Icon:
- Locate the item that you want to create a shortcut for
- Right-click the item, click Send to, and then click Desktop (create shortcut). The shortcut icon appears on your desktop
To Remove an Icon:
- Right-click an icon on the desktop, click Delete
- Click Yes to confirm the removal of the icon